top of page

"Candy Bar + Nail Polish"

Sydney (Florida), Ana (Florida) & Lily (Tennessee) /// Protecting the Pacific International Students /// Bahía Ballena, Costa Rica

1. What was one item you found on the beach that surprised you?


SYDNEY: Miky Way Candy Bar... why would you leave a candy bar at the beach? It probably came from a tourist.


ANA: I found nail polish today. I think it came from the USA. I would assume that someone used it and threw it away not knowning where it would end up.


LILY: I found a nail polish bottle. This came from a girl probably... let's name her Caroline. This girl was on a beach trip with other girls from her sorority in the USA. As she leisurely painted her nails, the bottle ran out. Without thinking, she causually tossed the bottle behind her and thought she would never have to see it again. But this careless girl has no idea that the few of us on the beach today had to pick up her nail polish bottle here, thousands of miles away, in Costa Rica. Caroline had no idea how her action could have an effect on the environment.


2. What was one thing you learned from the film?


SYDNEY: I learned that the Pacific Garbage Patch is a huge issue.


ANA: I learned about the Pacific Garbage Patch from the film, something I had not known about before today. While obvioulsy upsetting to learn about, I believe it was necessary in order to educate myself on very real problems we are facing today as a species.


LILY: From the video, I learned about the extent of the Pacific Garbage Patch. I had previously heard about it but I hadn't really thought much of it. It is truly terrifying how much we are hurting the environment and the animals and plants we are harming.


3. Are you optimistic about the future?


SYDNEY: I believe we will be able to come up with solutions but I am worried that no one will take actions and therefore I am only somewhat optimistic.


ANA: I am optimistic about the future. I believe that if we all stand together, we can fix this problem, it will take time, but together anything is possible.


LILY: Yes, I am optimistic about the future. This creativity and innovation of humans gives me hope that we can change the path taht we are on and save the environment for future generations. I love and am intrigued by the bionic yarn. This is an incredible idea and is just one of the many ways we can clean up the waters and reuse the plastic in the future.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page