top of page

"Broken Mirror + Toothbrush"

Hannah (Washington DC) & Katherine (Massachusetts) /// Protecting the Pacific International Students /// Bahía Ballena, Costa Rica

1. What was one item you found on the beach that surprised you?


HANNAH: I found a large pile of mirror shards that I think might have come from a shattered car mirror when the car drove too close to the tree.


KATHERINE: One item that I found on the beach that surprised me was a toothbrush. I thought about it, and I realized, in addition to not having access to a trash can, the person may not have had access to a sink. They may come from a financially strained living situation or they could just be a traveler who was using the ocean waters to brus their teeth.


2. What was one thing you learned from the film?


HANNAH: From the video, I learned that there are efficient and useful methods to clear plastic waste from the oceans.


KATHERINE: One thing that I learned from the film was that there is a great potential to reuse plastic that is floating in the ocean as opposed to producing new plastics. It surprised me how much plastic exists in the ocean. Why aren't we more aware about this? Why am I just hearing about this now?


3. Are you optimistic about the future?


HANNAH: I am optimistic, but people do have to work hard to reverse the damage done to the Earth, so it won't be an easy or quick progress.


KATHERINE: I am for sure optimistic about the future. Instead of looking towards data or facts, I look towards human beings and I see hope as long as we can get enough people aware. We can turn this around. Human beings can turn our world around if we work together.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page