top of page

"An Old Car + Half a T-Shirt"

Olivia (California) & Claire (California) /// Protecting the Pacific International Students /// Bahía Ballena, Costa Rica

1. What was one item you found on the beach that surprised you?


OLIVIA: We found the remains of a car! That was surprising because... we are on the beach! I think it floated in from somewhere far way and I think the waves washed it onto the shore. Anyone could have been the driver. We all use cars.


CLAIRE: I found half a t-shirt. I believe that someone left it on the beach. Their forgetfullness might be the end of a poor fish's life.


2. What was one thing you learned from the film?


OLIVIA: I learned how much danger all the sea animals are in because of human everyday actions and how our stupid mistakes and killing them. Everyday land or sea, animals are in danger and we just go about living our lives while so many animals are dying.


CLAIRE: I learned about the comapny G-Starr. I think that it is super cool that there is a company re-using plastic for fashion. I wish that the company was more widely known. I will give hope and maybe inspire people to join the recycle plastic movement. I know the video did it for me.


3. Are you optimistic about the future?


OLIVIA: No. I am not because I think about our future and this humanity isn't doing anything to solve these problems on a large scale. I feel like we need to realize our errors and then we can start to come up with solutions but I think it will be too late. We just need to get our heads and hearts together and we should probably START NOW.


CLAIRE: I am optimistic about the future. If people keep educating younger people like myself, then we can change the future. We have to stop adding to the problem. Plus, we can help to reduce it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page