top of page

Jamaica /// "Tourism is one-side in Jamaica"


C2C Interview /// Kingston, Jamaica


Do you have a favorite childhood memory from the ocean?


Yes… I remember my brother and i were playing on the beach and I grabbed the sand and threw it at him but it didn’t catch him… it actually caught a lady… so I got in trouble for that.


What is your relationship like now with the beach?

I absolutely love the beach. I find it very relaxing. I absolutely love it.

What is Jamaican society's relationship like with the beach?

Well… you can tell that Jamaicans definitely love it. Whenever we have a holiday the beach is completely packed. We definitely love it.

What are tourists' relationship like with the ocean?

Tourists love our beaches because it is white and sandy… we have the most beautiful beaches… they are very nice and sort. They definitely like our beaches.

What is the relationship like between locals and tourists?

The relationship between tourists and locals is that locals re always very welcoming and try to be as warm as they possibly can… I think locals try to be as open and friendly.

What do you think the future is for tourism here in Jamaica?

I think that tourists make our prices higher and local people cannot benefit from the tourism… we cannot purchases food items. The tourists make all the prices go up but only the all-inclusive resorts benefit. I hope in the future tourism can be more sustainable. The US Dollars keeps rising it will only get higher for us here locally. They make their dollars against the US so until they acknowledge that the local needs… the cost of living in Jamaica will only get higher and harder.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page