top of page

Jamaica /// "Hot sand taught me how to walk..."


C2C Interview /// Bob Marley Beach, Jamaica


Do you have a favorite childhood memory from the ocean?


Well this beach is the beach where I learned to walk. Hot sand on this beach taught me how to walk. Just the heat of the sand… yeah… of course… that’s my favorite memory!


What’s your relationship like now with the ocean?


Well I have to be in the ocean… I have to visit the ocean because I have to fish and so forth… Of course…


You’re also a surfer, right?


Of course… I have to ride waves… I have people coming and seeing me ride waves and I think I am passing it on… of course.

What’s Jamaica’s relationship now with the ocean?


People love the beach… the tourism is here… people love the beach. The attraction is here. Jamaica protection the ocean because it means the tourism is also protected. From what I hear… oceans need protecting… especially the coral… wildlife needs to be conserved in the ocean.


Do you think tourism is sustainable in Jamaica?


Well it is only like the big companies who are making the money off of the tourists… the all inclusive resorts.


What do you think people can do to protect the ocean?


Stop dumping in the ocean… stop the pollution… small steps you know… that’s where steps begin… on the ground with the local people like us… of course.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page